The right metrics for Generation Open: a guide to getting credit for practicing Open Science

Event Details

The right metrics for Generation Open: a guide to getting credit for practicing Open Science

Time: October 21, 2014 to October 23, 2014
Country: http://blog.impactstory.org/right-metrics-generation-open/
Website or Map: http://blog.impactstory.org/r…
Event Type: webinar, and, discussion
Organized By: Stacy Konkiel
Latest Activity: Oct 23, 2014

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

You’re not getting all the credit you should be for your research.

As an early career researcher, you’re likely putting open access versions of your articles online, sharing your research data and software code on GitHub, posting slides and figures on Slideshare and Figshare, and “opening up” your research in many other ways.

Yet these Open Science products and their impacts (on other scholars, the public, policymakers, and other stakeholders) are rarely mentioned when applying for jobs, tenure and promotion, and grants.

The traditional means of sharing your impact–citation counts–don’t meet the needs of today’s researchers.

What Generation Open needs is altmetrics.

In this presentation, we’ll cover:

  • what altmetrics are and the types of altmetrics today’s researchers can expect to receive,
  • how you can track and share those metrics to get all the credit you deserve, and
  • real life examples of scientists who used altmetrics to get grants and tenure

Dates & Times

Scientists and librarians across all time zones can attend, because we’re offering it throughout the week, at times convenient for you:

  • Tuesday, Oct. 21 at 1000 (UTC+8 – China & Western Australia)/1100 (UTC+9 – Japan)/1200 (UTC+10 – E. Australia)/1400 (UTC+12 – New Zealand)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 21 at 1400 (UTC+0 – UK)/1500 (UTC+1 – Western Europe)/1600 (UTC+2 – E. Europe and Middle East)
  • Thursday, Oct 23 at 1400 (UTC-3 – Brazil/Argentina)
  • Thursday, Oct. 23 at 2 pm (East Coast/EDT)/1 pm (Central/CDT)/12 pm (Mountain/MDT)/11 am (West Coast/PDT)

Register today!

 http://blog.impactstory.org/right-metrics-generation-open/

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for The right metrics for Generation Open: a guide to getting credit for practicing Open Science to add comments!

Join Open Access Week

Attending (4)

Organized by:

in partnership with our
Advisory Committee

Twitter Feed

All content subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License unless specified differently by poster.   Created by Nick Shockey.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service